Skip navigation

Due to space constraints, we’re looking at having a few 3-run (2 intermediate landing) stairs in our building.  I had’t used the stair tool much before, so most of this was new to me, but I knew that Revit won’t accept overlapping sketch lines in stairs.  I tried a few different methods to try to get these stairs to work.  One method involved sketching the first two runs of the stairs (stopping at the correct height), and then using the ‘multistory top level’ option to continue the stairs up.  While it sort of worked, there were a number of problems with that method, but the biggest was that this project has several slightly different floor-to-floor heights, which meant that some of the runs would have to be longer or shorter depending on the floor.

After searching around through many blogs and forums, I finally noticed a recent post on the Autodesk forums about this very same issue.  Someone posted step-by-step instructions, and from there I was off.  It took me a few tries, but I think the method described worked very well.

The first step for me, because of the differing floor heights, was to do a study in autocad to determine the correct number of risers for each floor / run.  From there I found the heights of each landing I needed, as well as some base dimensions that would help me set up reference planes to snap to in Revit.  From there, I used the Revit stair ‘run’ tool to draw most of the stair, and then added the landings by adding an extra ‘riser’ line and new ‘boundary’ lines.  It took a few tries, but I think I figured out a pretty good way to do it.

download my 3-run stair

(WordPress won’t let me upload .rvt files without an upgrade, so Save-as the above link and then rename it from .doc to .rvt)

One odd quirk I found was that sometimes Revit doesn’t like it when you draw in new boundary lines.  To work around this, I ended up extending lines generated by the ‘run’ tool, and then split it to make new lines.  For some reason, Revit likes these lines-by-mitosis better than newly drawn lines.

UPDATE: It looks like a number of people have been searching for this kind of thing and downloading the sample file.  If you find it useful or have any questions, please let me know.  I’d love to get some feedback, either in comment or email form.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

